Beautiful Baguette Pan


This past weekend I became the lucky recipient of a friend-of-a-friend’s 100-year-old sourdough starter. (He likes to share it around in case he kills the batch he’s got. Who wants to be the one that ended a 100-year-old tradition?) I celebrated by immediately booking a brunch date with friends for next weekend, since I’ve now got the perfect excuse to make sourdough cinnamon buns.

But on my to-master list is perfectly crispy sourdough baguette. I don’t have a steam oven, so it’l take a bit of old-fashioned labour on my end (I hear a spritz bottle works fine too), with a bit of a cheat from these excellent pans from Williams-Sonoma. The perforated surface allows air to circulate around the dough, while the curved sides allow for even heat. I’ll be launching a boulangerie in no time.

Leave a comment